Skip to product information
1 of 1

Joss Stone

The Soul Sessions [Vinyl]

The Soul Sessions [Vinyl]

Regular price $26.98 USD
Regular price Sale price $26.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

She's a 16-year-old from the deep Southwest of England, a place better known for its cream teas than its hot-buttered funk. However, with assistance from Betty Wright (the "Clean-Up Woman" herself), ?uestlove of Philly neo-soulsters the Roots, and an entire roster of classic soul artists, Joss Stone has fashioned a remarkable debut that--with its irresistible fatback drums, swirling organ, and funked-up guitar--takes the listener back to the golden years of early 1970s R&B. Understandably, Stone's youthful voice carries elements of producer Wright's own pipes, and when it's combined with imaginative material such as the White Stripes' "Fell in Love with a Girl," the effect is extraordinary. Wright's classic stripped-down soul production, and the opportunity to hear class acts such as Timmy Thomas, Latimore, and Willie "Little Beaver" Hale performing on the same recording, are things to be treasured. With its superlative company, THE SOUL SESSIONS is an intriguing debut that features a potential heir to the blue-eyed-soul mantle of Dusty Springfield.The Soul Sessions is the debut studio album by singer & songwriter Joss Stone, released on September 16, 2003. The album consists of cover versions of soul songs from the 1960s & 1970s, in addition to a cover of The White Stripes' 2001 song "Fell in Love With a Girl." In 2004, The Soul Sessions was shortlisted for the Mercury Prize & was nominated for a MOBO Award for Best Album.

1. The Chokin' Kind [Waylon Jennings]
2. Super Duper Love (Are You Diggin' On Me?) Pt. 1 [Sugar Billy]
3. Fell In Love With A Boy [The White Stripes]
4. Victim Of A Foolish Heart [Bettye Swann]
5. Dirty Man [Laura Lee]
6. Some Kind Of Wonderful [Soul Brothers Six]
7. I've Fallen In Love With You [Carla Thomas]
8. I Had A Dream [John Sebastian]
9. All The King's Horses [Aretha Franklin]
10. For The Love Of You Pts. 1 & 2 [The Isley Brothers]  

Release Date:

UPC: 602557280036

Out of stock

View full details