Skip to product information
1 of 1

Townes Van Zandt

Our Mother the Mountain [Vinyl]

Our Mother the Mountain [Vinyl]

Regular price $24.98 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Our Mother the Mountain is the second album by country singer/songwriter Townes Van Zandt, released in 1969. It is considered to be one of his greatest recordings and features some of his best known works, including "Be Here To Love Me", "Snake Mountain Blues" and "Our Mother The Mountain". The basic tracks for Our Mother the Mountain were recorded in Los Angeles with overdubs recorded in Nashville. The album was produced by Jack Clement and Jim Malloy, who produced Van Zandt's first album For the Sake of The Song, and Kevin Eggers, who ran Poppy Records and also managed Van Zandt. Several big name musicians played on the album, including James Burton (famed for playing behind Ricky Nelson and Elvis Presley) and renowned session player Charlie McCoy. "Tecumseh Valley", which had appeared on the singer's debut album, was rerecorded for Our Mother the Mountain as a result of Van Zandt's dissatisfaction with the garish production employed on For the Sake of the Song. Although the tracks on Our Mother the Mountain were sweetened in Nashville, there was a somewhat simpler, light-handed approach taken production-wise on his follow-up LP.
•    Be Here to Love Me
•    Kathleen
•    She Came and She Touched Me
•    Like a Summer Thursday
•    Our Mother the Mountain
•    Second Lover's Song
•    St. John the Gambler
•    Tecumseh Valley
•    Snake Mountain Blues
•    My Proud Mountains
•    Why She's Acting This Way

Release Date: March 3, 2009

UPC: 767981109015 View full details