Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tom Waits

Swordfishtrombones [Vinyl]

Swordfishtrombones [Vinyl]

Regular price $41.00 SGD
Regular price Sale price $41.00 SGD
Sale Sold out
Taxes included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Swordfishtrombones is the eighth studio album by singer and songwriter Tom Waits, released in 1983 on Island Records. It was the first album that Waits produced himself. Stylistically different from his previous albums, Swordfishtrombones moves away from conventional piano-based songwriting towards unusual instrumentation and a somewhat more abstract and experimental rock approach.

The album peaked at No. 164 on the Billboard Pop Albums and 200 albums charts. At the end of 1983, Swordfishtrombones was ranked the second best album of the year by NME. In 1989, Spin named Swordfishtrombones the second greatest album of all time. In 2000, it was voted number 374 in Colin Larkin's All Time Top 1000 Albums. Pitchfork ranked Swordfishtrombones at number 11 in its 2002 list of the best albums of the 1980s. In 2006, Q listed Swordfishtrombones as the 36th best album of the 1980s, while in 2012, Slant Magazine listed it as the decade's 26th best album. The cover art is a TinTone photograph by Michael A. Russ showing Waits with the actors Angelo Rossitto and Lee Kolima. 180 gram vinyl pressing. Universal. 2009.

    1 Underground
    2 Shore Leave
    3 Dave the Butcher [Instrumental]
    4 Johnsburg, Illinois
    5 16 Shells from a Thirty-Ought Six
    6 Town with No Cheer
    7 In the Neighborhood
    8 Just Another Sucker on the Vine [Instrumental]
    9 Frank's Wild Years
    10 Swordfishtrombone
    11 Down, Down, Down
    12 Soldier's Things
    13 Gin Soaked Boy
    14 Trouble's Braids
    15 Rainbirds [Instrumental]

Release Date: June 23, 2009

UPC: 042284246910 View full details