Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Grateful Dead

Europe 72 [3LP Vinyl]

Europe 72 [3LP Vinyl]

Regular price $93.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $93.00 AUD
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Pressed at RTI on 180-gram vinyl
Lacquers cut from the original analog album masters by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering
All original replica packaging, including an 8 page book
Released in conjunction with the Europe 72 box and Europe 72 Vol. 2 2CD release
Originally a three-LP set, this live document of the band at their largest (an octet if you count non-performing lyricist/official member Robert Hunter) is a well-recorded portrait of one of the Dead's finest eras. The Chick Corea-channeled-through-Floyd Cramer piano of Keith Godchaux had already begun to take the Dead to new improvisational heights, but diehard bluesman Pigpen was still representing the group's roots with his harmonica and gritty vocals.
If you favor the jamming side of the Dead, EUROPE '72 offers a wealth of riches. "Morning Dew," "Truckin'" and other classics are presented in epic versions, spotlighting the musicians in all their free-form glory. But those who admire the band's excellent songcraft won't be disappointed either, as songs like "Jack Straw" and "Tennesee Jed" exemplify the Dead's gift for matching lyric with melody. Though the Dead had their moments in the studio, this extended set captures the band as they were truly meant to be experienced: live and uncut.

- Disc 1 -
1 Cumberland Blues [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]
2 He's Gone [Live in Amsterdam 1972 Version] [Live]
3 One More Saturday Night [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]
4 Jack Straw [Live in Paris 1972 Version] [Live]
5 You Win Again [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]
6 China Cat Sunflower [Live in Paris 1972 Version] [Live]
7 I Know You Rider [Live in Paris 1972 Version] [Live]
- Disc 2 -
1 Brown-Eyed Woman [Live in Denmark 1972 Version] [Live]
2 Hurts Me Too [Live in London 1972 Version] [Live]
3 Ramble on Rose [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]
4 Sugar Magnolia [Live in Paris 1972 Version] [Live]
5 Mr. Charlie [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]
6 Tennessee Jed [Live in Paris 1972 Version] [Live]
- Disc 3 -
1 Truckin' [Live in London 1972 Version] [Live]
2 Epilogue [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]
3 Prelude [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]
4 Morning Dew [Live in England 1972 Version] [Live]

Release Date:

UPC: 081227975982

In stock

View full details