Skip to product information
1 of 1


A Ghost Is Born [Vinyl]

A Ghost Is Born [Vinyl]

Regular price $62.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $62.00 AUD
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

With A Ghost is Born, Wilco continues in the melancholy and experimental direction of the preceding Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Those intrigued, if not downright fascinated, by Wilco's transformation from a no-frills alt-country group to an unpredictably inventive avant pop ensemble will find plenty to marvel at on this fifth outing.  "At Least That's What You Said" begins the album quietly with Jeff Tweedy's ragged voice singing softly over a gentle piano line, but the song soon gives way to gloriously tattered guitar soloing and full-band backing. "Hell Is Chrome" follows with Tweedy taking on a surprisingly plaintive vocal tone that hearkens back to 1970s soul ballads, while the nearly 11-minute "Spiders (Kidsmoke)" glides along on Krautrock-like keyboards and features more fierce guitar work. This isn't to say that Wilco has abandoned its sense of melody and pop songcraft, it's just that the group has found new ways to express these aspects of its sound. A Ghost is Born continues Wilco's remarkable streak of innovative albums and upholds their reputation as one of America's most adventurous rock bands.

Double LP, gate-fold cover, 180-gram audiophile pressing.

1 At Least That's What You Said
2 Hell Is Chrome
3 Spiders (Kidsmoke)
4 Muzzle of Bees
5 Hummingbird
6 Handshake Drugs
7 Wishful Thinking
8 Company in My Back
9 I'm a Wheel
10 Theologians
11 Less Than You Think
12 Late Greats

Release Date: March 7, 2005

UPC: 081227649210

Out of stock

View full details