Skip to product information
  • Marvin Gaye - What's Going On [50th Anniversary 2LP] - Drowned World Records
1 of 1

Marvin Gaye

What's Going On [50th Anniversary 2LP]

Regular price
$39.98 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$39.98 USD
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Your entire order ships on or after: 12/3

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 1/500

This premium vinyl release features direct-to-analog mastering from the original primary album tape reels by acclaimed engineer Kevin Gray, one of the first times this has been done since 1971, offering an undeniably authentic listening experience.

What's Going On: 50th Anniversary 2LP Edition bonus LP opens up the album's writing and production palette. Featured are four rare cuts making their vinyl debut, highlighted by a previously unreleased "stripped" version of the title song, plus all six original mono single mixes and their B-sides, with all of those 7" versions on vinyl for the first time since their original releases. With two 180gm records, a tip-on heavy stock jacket, an original gatefold with complete lyrics, printed sleeves with track details, a rare image from the cover sessions, and a brief essay honoring arranger David Van De Pitte. The main essay was written by acclaimed author and poet Hanif Abdurraqib.


  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Double Vinyl LP
  • Mastered Direct-to-Analog from the Original Primary Tape Reels
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray
  • 4 Rare Cuts on Vinyl for the First Time
  • Previously Unreleased "Stripped" Version of the Title Track
  • All 6 Original Mono Single Mixes & Their B-Sides
  • All 7" Versions on Vinyl for the First Time Since 1971
  • Tip-On Heavy Stock Jacket
  • Original Gatefold
  • Complete Lyrics
  • Printed Sleeves with Track Details
  • Rare Image from the Cover Sessions
  • Essay by Hanif Abdurraqib

One (Original Album):

  1. What's Going On
  2. What's Happening Brother
  3. Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky)
  4. Save The Children
  5. God Is Love
  6. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)

Two (Original Album):

  1. Right On
  2. Wholy Holy
  3. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)

Three (Bonus Tracks):

  1. What's Going On - Stripped Version (Previously Unreleased)
  2. What's Going On (Mix 1/No Strings or Horns)
  3. What's Going On - rhythm & strings instrumental mix
  4. Symphony (Demo)

Four (Bonus Tracks):

  1. What's Going On (Original Mono Single Mix)
  2. God Is Love (Original Mono Single Mix)
  3. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) [Original Mono Single Mix]
  4. Sad Tomorrows (Original Mono Single Mix)
  5. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) [Original Mono Single Mix]
  6. Wholy Holy (Original Mono Single Mix)