Skip to product information
1 of 1

Dusty Springfield

The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 [Vinyl]

The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 [Vinyl]

Regular price $29.98 USD
Regular price $42.98 USD Sale price $29.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Double vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. In 1968, Dusty Springfield was already an international superstar with 15 hits under her belt for the Philips label when she decided it was time for a change. What followed was one of the most legendary and momentous label moves in pop music history: Dusty decamped to Atlantic Records, where, under the tutelage of Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd, and Arif Mardin, she recorded one of the greatest albums of all time, Dusty in Memphis, and scored such indelible hits as 'Son-of-a Preacher Man' and 'The Windmills of Your Mind' before moving on to Philly soul ('A Brand New Me'). We at Real Gone Music have closely examined this crucial period in Dusty's career over the years, with three previous releases. But there remains one facet of her Atlantic period which has remained largely untouched: her singles. The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 presents the A and B-sides of all dozen singles she recorded for the label in their original mono single mixes. These singular sides highlight how the move to a more R&B sound at Atlantic (also aided by producers Gamble & Huff and Jeff Barry with such players as The Memphis Boys and The Sweet Inspirations) brilliantly capitalized on the smoky tones of Dusty's mezzo-soprano to create some of the most potent blue-eyed soul ever recorded. Mastered by Mike Milchner from original tape sources, annotated by Joe Marchese, and featuring copious photos, The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 is an absolute must for any Dusty devotee or any soul fan to boot.

- Disc 1 -
1 Son-Of-A Preacher Man
2 Just a Little Lovin' (Early in the Morning)
3 Don't Forget About Me
4 Breakfast in Bed
5 The Windmills of Your Mind
6 I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore
- Disc 2 -
1 Willie & Laura Mae Jones
2 That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)
3 In the Land of Make Believe
4 So Much Love
5 A Brand New Me
6 Bad Case of the Blues
- Disc 3 -
1 Silly, Silly Fool
2 Joe
3 I Wanna Be a Free Girl
4 Let Me Get in Your Way
5 Lost
6 Never Love Again
- Disc 4 -
1 What Good Is I Love You
2 What Do You Do When Love Dies
3 Haunted
4 Nothing Is Forever
5 I Believe in You
6 Someone Who Cares

Release Date: May 6, 2022

UPC: 848064014508 View full details